Tickets & Sponsorships

Leading Locally Honorary Committee / Silent Auction / Leading Locally Schedule of Events / Sponsors

Coro is mobilizing the Bay Area community in a new way this spring with our Leading Locally Civic Engagement Series. We hope you will join us for the flagship event of the series, our 22nd Annual Coro Leadership Luncheon and Silent Auction on Friday, May 12, 2017, from 11:00am – 1:30pm, at San Francisco’s Palace Hotel

Leading Locally is a series of four non-partisan educational opportunities for Bay Area citizens to connect the dots from civic interest to engagement. Participants learn how to get involved in local government and political activities, from joining local boards and commissions, to taking the first steps to run for office, to determining how to navigate local party membership.

Benefits of sponsoring Leading Locally include an opportunity for partners to:

— Underscore a commitment as a champion of a strong and thriving democracy on the local level
— Provide employees with civic learning opportunities by participating in Leading Locally events
— Support Coro’s work of strengthening our democracy by training groups of people to work and lead across differences

Learn more about sponsorship opportunities and purchasing tickets here

Leading Locally Honorary Committee

* indicates Coro Alum

Silent Auction

Support Coro and have lunch with a Bay Area leader! Bid on the chance to meet one-on-one with local luminaries at Coro’s Annual Leadership Luncheon on May 12. If you cannot attend the Luncheon in person, but would like to submit a maximum bid in advance (minimum bid is $250 and bids go up in increments of $50), please contact Jackie Shelton. *indicates Coro Alum

Leading Locally Schedule of Events

  • Joining a Municipal Board or Commission
    Wednesday, April 19, 6:00-8:00 PM
    Learn from members of local commissions about how to be part of local government without running for office. The panelists include:

    • Aimee Brown, Board Member of San Francisco’s Treasury Oversight Committee
    • David Chasteen, Commissioner for The San Francisco Veterans Affairs Commission
    • Christine Johnson, SPUR’s San Francisco Director and a San Francisco Planning Commissioner
    • Nayeli Maxson, Appointee to Oakland Community Development District Board (Central) and Coro Alumna
    • Andrea Shorter, President of San Francisco’s Commission on the Status of Women*
      *Andrea Shorter is replacing Emily Murase on this panel
  • 22nd Annual Coro Leadership Luncheon
    Friday, May 12, 11:00 AM-1:30 PM
    Hear from prominent city leaders about how they get things done and collaborate to effect positive change. The speakers for the Luncheon are:

  • Running for Local Office
    Wednesday, May 24, 6:00-8:00 PM
    Engage with others who have run for local office, learn the ups and downs, and explore if it’s right for you. Panelists include:

  • Navigating you Local Political Party
    Wednesday, June 14, 11:30 AM-1:30 PM
    Learn how to navigate the central committee of your chosen political party. Join local political committee leaders to understand how party infrastructure works and how to get involved. Panelists include:

    • Jason P. Clark, President, San Francisco Republican Party


    • Barry Hermanson, Member, San Francisco Green Party County Council
    • Frances Hsieh, Recording Secretary, San Francisco Democratic County Central Committee
    • Emily Tilford, Treasurer, Libertarian Party of Sacramento County 



Senator Dianne Feinstein & Mr. Richard C. Blum

Betty & Jack Schafer


Dunstan & Jamie Allison Hope

Fellows Program Class of 1991



David Coulter & Susan Weeks Coulter
Deane/Whitcanack Family
Dignity Health
Linda Gregory
William Hirsch & Elizabeth Crabtree
Pam Jones & Steve Herskovitz
MUFG Union Bank
Mary Obelnicki & Craig Silverstein
Pacific Gas and Electric Company

Robyn & David Reiss
Shartsis Friese LLP
Mike Thiel & Marcie Vu
UFCW Region 8 States Council
Diane B. Wilsey


AFSCME Council 57
BNP Paribas
Carl & Linden Berry

California Labor Federation
California Professional Firefighters
California Teachers Association
Jim Cervantes
Charles Schwab & Co., Inc.
First Republic Bank
Sean Gibson

John & Marcia Goldman
Christine Johnson
Mechanics Bank

Mothusi & Denise Pahl
Marianna Pisano
NextGen Climate

Jane Tom
University of California Office of the President

Courtney Young-Law & Chris Law



AFSCME Local 829
Bank of San Francisco

Blue State Digital
Jose Bodipo-Memba
Walter & Denise Brown
Lucia Choi-Dalton
Contra Costa Building and Construction Trades Council

Ryan Donnelly
Heather Goodman

Fred & Jan Hodder
Erick & Melissa Howard
Benedict & Linnea Hur
Bill Jackson
Tracey Jones
Kearns & West

Sara Leslie
Tom Lockard & Alix Marduel
Rick Mallory
Maria & Dean Nicolacakis
Chip & Arlene Nielsen
Agatha Precourt

David Sibbet
True Capital Management

UFCW Union Local 5
Frank Yuen



James Araby
Bruce Berrol
Dolores Bernardo
Luis Buhler
Herb Chan
Contra Costa Central Labor Council
Hon. Anna Eshoo
Rose-Ellen Fairgrieve
Robert Fleri
Franca Gargiulo
Edward Gerber
Hon. Jerry Hill
Hon. Don Horsley
Edward L. Hoyt
Marsha Jones
Megan Smith Janis
Rachel Kilshaw & Brian Clausen Sr.
David Kirp
Barbara J. Meislin/The Purple Lady
Merritt Community Capital Corporation
Jacqueline Shelton-Miller & Craig Miller
Hon. Kevin Mullin
Jarvis Pahl
Gavin Payne
Mira Ringler

Khanh Russo
San Francisco International Airport
San Mateo Labor Council

Nancy Shemick
Evonne Silva
Dwight Smith

Hon. Jackie Speier
Raymond Sullivan
Roselyn Chroman Swig
Teamsters Local Union No. 856
Ron & Nina Whitcanack